BBL|06 Final Squads

With under two weeks until the Big Bash kicks off for season six at Spotless Stadium, teams have been frantically putting the finishing touches on their lists for this season. All the squads have now been finalised and below are the full team lists for BBL|06.

Adelaide Strikers

The major additions to the Strikers squad this summer are Chris Jordan and former Hurricane Ben Dunk. Alex Ross and Adil Rashid are two losses from the Strikers squad last season which could hit them hard.

TEAM LIST: Wes Agar, Alex Carey, Jonathon Dean, Ben Dunk, Travis Head, Brad Hodge (c), Jon Holland, Chris Jordan (I), Ben Laughlin, Jake Lehmann, Tim Ludeman, Michael Neser, Kieron Pollard (I), Kane Richardson, Craig Simmons, Kelvin Smith, Billy Stanlake, Jake Weatherald

MUST HAVE: Travis Head

Brisbane Heat

Young gun Marnus Labuschange spearheads a new look Heat batting order which boasts the strike-power of Brendon McCullum up the top along with Alex Ross rounding out the middle-order.

TEAM LIST: Samuel Badree (I), Joe Burns, Ben Cutting, Alex Doolan, Andrew Fekete, Luke Feldman, Jason Floros, Sam Heazlett, Marnus Labuschagne, Josh Lalor, Chris Lynn (c), Brendon McCullum (I), James Peirson, Nathan Reardon, Alex Ross, Mark Steketee, Mitchell Swepson, Jack Wildermuth

MUST HAVE: Brendon McCullum

Hobart Hurricanes

England fast-bowler Stuart Broad is the major signing for this Hurricanes team which have lost Ben Dunk and Joe Mennie who have been long-time members of the squad. Most of the squad have stuck together but during BBL|06 don’t be surprised to see a few new faces down at Blundstone Arena.

TEAM LIST: George Bailey, James Bazley, Cameron Boyce, Stuart Broad (I), Dan Christian, Hamish Kingston, Ben McDermott, Dominic Michael, Simon Milenko, Tim Paine (c), Sam Rainbird, Jake Reed, Clive Rose, Kumar Sangakkara (I), D’Arcy Short, Shaun Tait, Beau Webster, Jonathan Wells

MUST HAVE: Kumar Sangakkara

Melbourne Renegades

The Renegades have captured two former Scorchers players in Marcus Harris and Brad Hogg in their push for a finals berth. Star West Indian off-spinner Sunil Narine joins the squad to replace compatriot Chris Gayle.

TEAM LIST: Tom Beaton, Dwayne Bravo (I), Tom Cooper, Xavier Doherty, Callum Ferguson, Aaron Finch (c), Marcus Harris, Brad Hogg, Sunil Narine (I), Peter Nevill, James Pattinson, Nathan Rimmington, Matthew Short, Peter Siddle, Chris Tremain, Matthew Wade, Cameron White, Nick Winter

MUST HAVE: Sunil Narine

Melbourne Stars

The Stars remarkably have made no changes to their 18-man squad for BBL|06 and will sport the same team as last season.

TEAM LIST: Michael Beer, Scott Boland, James Faulkner, Sebastian Gotch, Evan Gulbis, Peter Handscomb, Sam Harper, John Hastings, Ben Hilfenhaus, David Hussey (c), Glenn Maxwell, Kevin Pietersen (I), Robert Quiney, Marcus Stoinis, Tom Triffitt, Dan Worrall, Luke Wright (I), Adam Zampa

MUST HAVE: Kevin Pietersen

Perth Scorchers

Despite the losses of veteran Brad Hogg and young batsman Marcus Harris the Scorchers are looking stronger than ever with the additions of England international Ian Bell and star paceman Mitchell Johnson. Former import Michael Carberry however leaves the team but the squad looks set for big things this season.

TEAM LIST: Ashton Agar, Cameron Bancroft, Jason Behrendorff, Ian Bell (I), Hilton Cartwright, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Mitchell Johnson, Michael Klinger, Mitch Marsh, Shaun Marsh, James Muirhead, Joel Paris, Jhye Richardson, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, Adam Voges (c), Sam Whiteman, David Willey (I)

MUST HAVE: Mitchell Johnson

Sydney Sixers

Sixers stalwart Michael Lumb won’t be seen at the SCG until 2017 but there is still an English taste in this squad through imports Sam Billings and Jason Roy. This was made possible by Johan Botha gaining Australian citizenship freeing room for another import. Axed test medium-pacer Joe Mennie joins the Sixers squad this year.

TEAM LIST: Sean Abbott, Sam Billings (I), Jackson Bird, Doug Bollinger, Johan Botha, Ryan Carters, Ben Dwarshuis, Brad Haddin, Josh Hazlewood, Moises Henriques (c), Daniel Hughes, Nathan Lyon, Nic Maddinson, Joe Mennie, Stephen O’Keefe, Jason Roy (I), Jordan Silk, Mitchell Starc

MUST HAVE: Brad Haddin

Sydney Thunder

The defending champions will be sporting a largely different team this season as legends Mike Hussey and Jacques Kallis leave them. BBL|05 MVP Andre Russell is still here though along with Shane Watson who will miss the beginning of the season through injury in a blow to their title defense. Eoin Morgan also re-joins the Thunder squad in what will be a new-look batting order. They will sport a very youth infused bowling attack which features Pat Cummins and Gurinder Sandhu.

TEAM LIST: Fawad Ahmed, Aiden Blizzard, Patrick Cummins, Jake Doran, Ryan Gibson, Chris Green, Chris Hartley, Usman Khawaja, Nathan McAndrew, Alister McDermott, Clint McKay, Eoin Morgan (I), Arjun Nair, Kurtis Patterson, Ben Rohrer, Andre Russell (I), Gurinder Sandhu, Shane Watson (c)

MUST HAVE: Andre Russell


5 thoughts on “BBL|06 Final Squads

  1. Hey guys I’d like some feedback on my team, with $39,600 left.

    Head, Bailey, McCullum, E.Morgan, Maddinson (Sangakkara, M.Harris)
    Haddin (Dunk)
    Henriques, Bravo, Cutting, M.Marsh, Cummins (Faulkner, Cartwright)

    Also which players should I use for my batting:
    (E.Morgan & Maddinson/D.Hughes) or (J.Roy & K.Patterson/Blizzard) cheers!


  2. Hey Declan…. I just saw James Vince showing in Batsman list in SydT.
    Why is that? Is he in for potential absence of Russell or he’s in for Morgan as he’ll be unavailable in later part.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.